West Jordan, Utah

Update by user Dec 04, 2014

I emailed back and forth with customer service a few more times. Eventually they sent me a $25 voucher. Not exactly what i was hoping for but i guess it's better than nothing.

Original review posted by user Oct 24, 2014

Below is an email correspondence between me and their customer service. In my opinion their response was completely unsatisfactory.


I made a reservation through Costco travel for an Intermediate SUV. The

description said Ford Escape 4DR/5PSGR or similar. I needed a 4 door

because I have 2 children in car seats and did not want to deal with a 2

door. I figured that because it said 4 door it would mean 4 door,

apparently I was mistaken. When I arrived at the Budget location to pick

up my car only a 2 door jeep was available. I explained my situation to

the associate and showed him my reservation but he refused to budge. He

said for $10 more I could get the standard SUV that was there (I could

have rented the standard SUV through Costco for $37.14). I said no, that

was not in my budget. I asked what else was available and he gave me a

van (too big for my needs and not the gas mileage I was hoping for).

My husband tried speaking with him and the associate started to get

quite sarcastic saying things like, I have an SUV with a split tire,

would you like that?. I have never experienced such bad customer

service from Budget before. It was very frustrating not getting the

product I had paid for and it was upsetting being spoken to in such a

rude and condescending way. I am hoping to rent again next week from

Oct 28-29 and would like to rent through you again. Is there anything

you can do to make this situation right? On a side note while we were

there another woman came in with a reservation for an Intermediate SUV

and also did not want the Jeep as she also needed a 4 door. The same

associate that was helping us gave her the car for only $5 more.


Thank you very much for letting Budget know about your disappointing

experience. On behalf of our entire Budget team, we apologize for the

issue you had with the vehicle that we assigned to you. We understand

that this occurred at the South Jordan on 22OCT14 and your reservation

number was 00133833US0.

We fell short of your expectations and let you down. A vehicle in your

reserved car class should have been ready when you arrived at our rental

location. Although we try to maintain adequate inventory levels at all

of our Budget locations, logistical challenges occasionally occur, and

this is what happened in your situation.

We are so sorry that you were inconvenienced and appreciate you bringing

this to our attention. Please be assured a copy of your report will be

sent to the appropriate management team.

Upon review of our records we do show the reserved intermediate SUV is

listed as a 4 door. Feel free to contact customer service while at the

counter should you have any issues upon arrival 28Oct14.

Budget takes great pride in providing dependable cars and attentive

service at a great price, with no surprises. Your feedback is extremely

important because it helps us maintain our high service levels. We

appreciate your business and hope you will give us another opportunity

to meet your rental needs in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorothy Henderson

Customer Service Representative

Reason of review: Not as described/ advertised.

Monetary Loss: $35.

Preferred solution: Full refund.

Budget Rent A Car Cons: Customer service, Car.

  • Budget Customer Service
Do You Have Something To Say ?
Write a review


You will be automatically registered on our site. Username and password will be sent to you via email.
Post Comment